Yellow Fever in Africa

Yellow fever is serious viral infection that is transmitted by mosquito bite. If you have not been vaccinated, the resultant disease that develops is serious, extremely debilitating, and can prove fatal. Vaccination programs for travellers from the UK, most mainland European countries, plus North America, have been in place for many years, and as a result there have been no recently reported cases. However, since 1996, a total of six travellers (from Europe and North America) have died from the disease. None of them had been vaccinated.

Countries in Africa that carry the risk of Yellow Fever

African countries where Yellow Fever can be contracted include Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau. Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Togo, and Uganda.

Map showing countries that carry the risk of yellow fever

As an aid to help you to locate the countries where there is a risk of contracting yellow fever, please follow this link to the “Fit for travel” website, where you’ll find a map produced by the WHO.

Get Vaccination for Yellow Fever in Africa